## Draft Security Assurance

The Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America, as depositary states of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons,

- -- Welcoming the accession of Ukraine to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons as a non-nuclear-weapon state,
- -- Taking into account the commitment of Ukraine to eliminate all nuclear weapons from its territory within a specified period of time,
- -- Noting the changes in the world-wide security situation, including the end of the cold war, which have brought about conditions for deep reductions in nuclear forces,

## Declare:

The three depositary states reaffirm their commitment to Ukraine, in accordance with the principles of the CSCE Final Act, to respect the independence and sovereignty and the existing borders of the CSCE member states and recognize that border changes can be made only by peaceful and consensual means; and recognize their obligation to refrain from the threat or use of force against the territorial integrity or political independence of any state, and that none of their weapons will ever be used except in self-defense or otherwise in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations.

The three depositary states reaffirm their commitment to seek immediate UN Security Council action to provide assistance to Ukraine, as a non-nuclear-weapon state Party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, if Ukraine should become a victim of an act of aggression or an object of a threat of aggression in which nuclear weapons are used.

The three depositary states reaffirm, in the case of Ukraine, their commitment not to use nuclear weapons against any non-nuclear-weapon state Party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, except in the case of an attack on themselves, their territories or dependent territories, their armed forces, or their allies, by such a state in association or allience with a nuclear weapon state.

The United States of America, as one of the depositary states of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons,

- -- Welcoming the decisions of the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, and Ukraine to eliminate all nuclear weapons from their teritory and to join the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons as non-nuclear-weapon states,
- -- Noting the changes in the world-wide security situation, including the end of the Cold War, which have brought about conditions for deep reductions in nuclear forces,
- -- Welcoming the new relationship between the United States and the states that have emerged from the dissolution of the former Soviet Union,

## Declares:

- 1. The United States reaffirms its commitment to seek immediate action by the UN Security Council to provide assistance to Ukraine, as a non-nuclear-weapon state Party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, if Ukraine should become a victim of aggression or threat of aggression in which nuclear weapons are used.
- 2. The United States reaffirms its commitment not to use nuclear weapons against any non-nuclear-weapon state Party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, except in the case of an attack on itself, its territories or armed forces, or its allies, by such a state allied to a nuclear weapons state or associated with a nuclear weapons state in carrying out or sustaining the attack.
- 3. The United States reaffirms its commitment to Ukraine, in accordance with the principles of the CSCE Final Act, to respect the independence and sovereignty and the existing borders of the CSCE-participating states, and recognizes that border changes can be made only by peaceful and consensual means; and reaffirms its commitment to Ukraine to refrain from the threat or use of force against the territorial integrity or political independence of any state, and that none of its weapons will ever be used except in self-defense or otherwise in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations.